When can you tell that you’re a writer? Are you a LEGIT writer or just a writer?

Hey guys! This is my first post so bear with me on this one. Your opinions matters to me so much so comment on the section below and let me see what you think.

*******

When can you tell that you ARE a writer?

This questions has been bugging for the longest time. You see, all my life, I’ve always thought of being a writer. You know, where my imaginations gets wild, new ideas, storyline and poetry. I know I have it in me. I just needed to be passionate about it. But overtime, since I was busy with school and other stuff. I forgot about it. Not until just recently. 

I recently joined this social app for writers. Yes, an app for writers. I mean, for someone who was once dreamt of being a writer, stumbling upon this app, it was like, the fire that I’ve unconsciously put out inside me was ignited again. And oh God how I enjoyed it. Specially with every like and comments that I get from my pieces. I would do backflips and cartwheels if I can to show how happy I get.

But recently I’ve been wondering, can I consider myself now as a writer? And I’ve asked people over there of what they thought about it.

Some, if not most answered that being a writer, one must have the ability to connect to your readers. Whether in imagination or feeling. Some said that, being a writer doesn’t need to have an audience. It’s like a hobby, as long as you enjoy it, it doesn’t matter. Continue with it and be happy. If audience loved it then it’s a plus. But what striked me the most is one answer, and this is from one of my most fave persons there.

A writer — is someone who has the NEED to write. Without it, self violence is committed.

A LEGIT writer — is someone who can transform others from his words alone. 

But you know what I think? 

Being a writer means pouring yourself out there. Because deep inside you, you know that somehow, somewhere around the world there is someone who are in the same situation as you are or what you’re writing about. 

And there’s no need for classification whether you are a legit writer or not. As long as you write, you ARE a writer. So just continue what you do. The world is too big so it’s impossible that there’s no one you can connect with. Whether if its in your form of a story or poetry, people can always relate to something. 

And remember not NEVER ever listen to those who put you down. Always believe in what you do so people will believe in you too.

Happy Writing!

Xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

